Favourite DIY Facials

  As a lover of DIY projects, as well as beauty, it is only natural for me to want to share my favourite home made, natural skin care treatments with the world. I have been using food products for my skin care routine for quite some time now. I absolutely love the way these treatments make my skin look and feel! If healthy, nutrient rich foods are beneficial internally, then it only makes sense that they also have benefit’s when used externally. By making my own facial mixtures, and masks, I have saved myself a ton of cash, all while improving the health, and appearance of my skin.

IMG_9565

I know it probably looks like I am about to whip up a delicious meal, but I am actually going to use all of these common household food products, and turn them into quick and easy facial masks!

IMG_9569

Before I apply anything to my skin, and after I wash my makeup off, I like to steam my face. This process is very simple. Just boil some hot water, grab a bowl, put your face over the steam, with a towel over your head, and voila! The steam helps to open up your pores, releasing any impurities trapped underneath the skin left behind from makeup etc. This step is important in my skin routine, since it prepares my skin for all the nutrients I’m about to feed it. The skin is the largest organ of the body, so I always make sure to take care of it as best as I can.

Baking Soda and Vinegar/ Water (Astringent, Blackhead/ Acne Cleanser)

IMG_9606

IMG_9620This baking soda and apple cider vinegar mixture is used mostly used as an acne, and blackhead treatment. If your skin is not prone to acne, not oily, or dry, I would not suggest using this treatment very often as it may be too harsh on sensitive skin types. My skin tends to get oily, and sometimes I have blackheads/pimples around my nose. The baking soda mixed with a bit of apple cider vinegar and water gently opens up your pores, to help reduce blackheads, and cleans out any impurities, and dirt underneath the skin. After you have gently scrubbed the areas which are prone to breakouts, wash off the paste with warm water.

Honey and Brown Sugar (Exfoliating)

IMG_9573

IMG_9575  IMG_9597IMG_9602

One of my favourite natural exfoliants is a honey and brown sugar facial scrub! With the benefit’s that honey provides the skin, such as being a natural antibacterial, being packed with antioxidents, as well as extremely moisturizing, the brown sugar adds the extra exfoliation your skin needs. This scrub is super quick, and easy to do in the morning, or right before bed at night. Exfoliating your skin is so important, in order to help replenish new skin cells, and create a more healthy, youthful complexion. I also like to apply this scrub to my lips. I noticed a lot of people do not apply their skin treatments to their lips. Please do! Your lips need love too.

Oatmeal, Honey & Banana Mask (Moisturizing, Rejuvenating Mask/Scrub)

IMG_9623

Oatmeal has many different amino acids, which are very beneficial to the skin. Your skin absorbs these nutrients, helping to rebuild tissues, repair damaged skin, and reduce blemishes. Oatmeal is also a good ingredient to help the skin retain moisture. The honey in the mixture is also very moisturizing, and rejuvenating. With the antioxidents in honey, combined with the moisture, and nutrients from the banana, and oatmeal, your skin is sure to feel fresh.

Lemon and Sugar Scrub (Exfoliating)

IMG_9653IMG_9666

I absolutely love this quick and easy paste of lemon and sugar. These are two ingredients you are sure to have, and it only takes a minute to gently exfoliate your face in the morning! This scrub provides your skin with a wake me up, while washing away all of those dead skin cells. It’s so important to remember to exfoliate, and not just use a foaming face wash. The lemon works as an astringent, while the small granules of sugar help to renew your skin. Remember to exfoliate your lips as well, to keep them soft. Every time I use this exfoliant, my skin feels fresh, and brand new!

Avocado and Banana Mask (Moisturizing Mask)

IMG_9668

This avocado and banana mixture is a perfect alternative to expensive facial masks. Avocado’s are rich in antioxidants, healthy fatty acids, and vitamins (such as vitamin C and E). Applying avocado directly to the skin, as well as incorporating it into your diet, can do wonders for your complexion. I know I am obsessed with avocados, which is perfect since I can eat them and put them on my face:) As mentioned earlier, the banana is filled with vitamins as well, acting as a moisturizing food for your skin.

IMG_9721

So the last facial treatment, which is amazing, is egg whites! You can use the yolk as well, however for this treatment, I just put the egg white in a bowl, mixed it around, and directly applied it to my skin. If you leave this on for about 15 minutes, your skin will begin to feel VERY tight as the egg white dries up. It will feel really strange at first, but that means its doing its job! The egg whites are so rich in nutrients such as protein, potassium, riboflavin, and magnesium. This helps with tightening your pores, which make them look smaller/tighter. The result is clearer, and smoother looking skin. Egg whites are great for reducing fine lines, tightening, reducing rosacea (redness), tissue repair and growth, and slowing down the skin aging process.

IMG_9699

Lastly, to end my food face fun, I like to relax with some cucumbers on my eyes. I used to think this was just a silly cliche seen in spas, however it turns out there actually are real life benefits to this (who knew). The cucumber helps to revitalize, and firm the skin under the eyes. I know after I’ve been laying down with these on my eyes for a while, I instantly feel more awake, and bright eyed. There are said to be other benefits, including wrinkle, and fine line reduction, as well as reducing under eye bags, dark circles, etc. I’ve also found putting warm teabags under my eyes can relive tired, or puffy eyes.

Hopefully you try some of these fun DIY face masks, and skin treatments yourself! Although it can be messy, and may seem strange putting a bunch of food on your face, there are so many wonderful benefits for your skin.

Enjoy!

Sincerely, Jesseca

2 thoughts on “Favourite DIY Facials

  1. Thanks for sharing these! I was thinking about getting a facial before my wedding, but it will be a lot less stressful to do this from home.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Not a problem:) And yes absolutely! I’ve been for a facial a couple months ago and spent a ton, yet when I use these natural masks I get the same results. Cheaper, and you get to do it from home. They’re great and treat a variety of skin types!

      Like

Leave a Reply

